With Legacy Apps, How does the Omni emulate the keyboard inputs?

Was looking at possibly buying an Omni and using it with a range of games I've got. I'm a developer by background and I'm just a bit confused how your controller emulates the keyboard? Is such functionality provided by each supported engine that you've attached the Omni to or is an external application used to track input from the Omni which then essentially converts a movement to a corresponding key which the game can then pick up?

Thanks,

Comments

• giroudfgiroudf Posts: 127
    probably the system is made from concentrical rings and when your feets pass over them it triggers the correct key. spped is detected from the interval you pass over the externel and internal ring.
    not sure if the omni is direction sensitive. If it emulates switch joystick, there is only a need for quad sector in each ring, bit that would be pretty rough detection.
    eight sector would be even better.
    Another possibility is the platforrm is a big touch pad, but i doubt it is possible since the omni is made from detached parts.
    I think the omni rely more on the sensor you could find on the oculus or the motion detector you could add later, providing only basic detection.
  • @Modernllama‌ @giroudf‌ I can clarify that the Omni is direction sensitive. However when playing legacy games (which uses a external application to press keys) there will be a few degrees of customisability. When playing with (most - with the odd exception eg Arma) legacy games the direction you move when you walk forward will be controlled by the direction in which you are looking with the Rift. However the Omni can use its directional functions in other ways such as recognising strafing, jumping and walking/running forwards/backwards correctly even after you spin 180 degrees in the Omni - (detects the spin and corrects for it.).