Pushing TrainingOps to the Limit: Redesigning Levels for the Vive

Hello! My name is Derek, a level designer here at Virtuix. I’ve been playing games all my life, but it wasn’t until I started college that I knew that I wanted to go a step further and start making games as a career. I studied architecture at Texas Tech University where I got a taste for design. More recently I graduated from the Guildhall at SMU where I received my Master’s Degree and specialized in Level Design. My experience in architecture helps me to understand the flow of people through a space. My experience at the Guildhall taught me how to engage players in exciting gameplay experiences.

I used these experiences when approaching the challenge of updating an existing level to take advantage of the Vive. The differences between the Oculus DK2 and the Vive go beyond simply a new headset and open up a world of new opportunities to me as a designer when it comes to creating content for the Omni. The Oculus is a more static experience in which a player can move and look around but aiming is inherently tied to where the player is looking. The Vive and its fully tracked hand controllers allows for a fully decoupled moving and aiming experience that puts you in the driver’s seat of your own action movie.

When we first began experimenting with the Vive, the most obvious way to take advantage of the hand controllers was to give the player two pistols and allow the player to run through TrainingOps guns blazing akimbo style. This however presents a problem because up to this point, all of the levels were created with the Oculus in mind and did not fully take advantage of this new method of shooting.