OpenVR OMNI Overlay

SkaarahSkaarah Posts: 52
edited September 2017 in HTC Vive
Hey guys. I am working on an OpenVR overlay to hopefully set some custom drivers and overrides to make more VR games compatible with the OMNI. My first goal is to use the OMNI to offset the standing position in the playspace. So far I have gotten it to change the position but the function I used doesn't seem to like updating as frequently as I need it to and causes the the playspace to freak out and bounce all over the place. Ideally I would like to have OMNI SDK access so I can add/modify the input modes (Gamepad/Keyboard). I'll be setting up a GitHub repo sometime this week. If anyone has any suggestions for functions to checkout in the OpenVR API that would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Fan47Fan47 Posts: 25
    I have some development experience, I’d be interested in working with you on this once the repo is up.
  • SkaarahSkaarah Posts: 52
    edited November 2017
    I'm almost ready to open the repo. The current state of the project is for testing with pavlov. I took some things out of the notorious Input Emulator and I have successfully replaced the touchpad movement with my own inputs. By next week I hope to be able to walk around in pavlov using the omni. The next step will be making the overlay program so we can choose what input is replaced using the omni. Theoretically I think we can override the position of the vive itself but thats a test for a later date.

Once I get the build steps readable I'll let you know.
  • JoeJoe Posts: 192
    @Evol FYI this sounds promising and along the lines of what I was attempting.sounds like Sakarah is having more luck than me so I’ll defer for now
  • This will essentially be my first open source project. After I open the repo should we get a discord goin so we can communicate easier? I'm certain theres a lot of things I'll have to explain/have explained to me.